My First Interactions With The Apple Watch

A friend of mine recently bought an Apple Watch and it’s been fun for all of us (roommates) to play around with it.  None of us have ever really interacted with a wearable for more than a few minutes, and certainly not one with as much functionality as the watch.  There were moments when I smiled and said “that’s pretty neat,” others where I though some functionality was missing and others yet when I was stumped trying to understand how to use it.

Putting those first few days of interaction with the Apple Watch in context I couldn’t help but feel that this type of technology is the future.  I am excited to see what types of killer apps people thinks up, which I fully expect as the watch is really a new medium. I predict that I will look back ten years from now and laugh at how little I understood about the technology and how dumb I must have looked trying to get it to work.  I think those first few interactions I’ve had with the watch will be very similar to the time many of us have spent trying to get one of our grandparents to understand how the iPhone works.  To us, it is so obvious and intuitive, but to them it is a foreign experience. 

I am a pretty big Apple fan and definitely see myself owning some type of wearable technology in a couple years, most importantly (to me) when the battery life improves, but I don’t think it’s an investment I will make anytime soon.